Gregor the Overlander

Gregor the Overlander cover

Book 1 of the Underland Chronicles 

In this fantasy, eleven-year-old Gregor and his two-year-old sister, Boots, fall into an amazing underground world underneath New York City. This Underland is populated with humans and various giant-sized talking creatures. These creatures include bats called “fliers”, cockroaches called “crawlers”, spiders called “spinners”, and rats called “gnawers.” They have all lived in harmony but “The Prophecy of Gray” has changed that existence. The prophecy states that Gregor may be the “overlander” destined to save the humans from the warlike rats. Gregor is more interested in finding his way home, until he discovers that fulfilling the prophecy might also mean finding his father. Thus there are two quests unfolding in this story. One is that the Underlanders must fulfill the Prophecy of Gray and prevent being annihilated by the rats. The other is Gregor’s quest to find his father and bring him home. 

Eventually the reluctant Gregor is transformed into a warrior hero who leads a successful battle against the army of invading rats. The quest begins with a band of rescuers consisting of two overlanders: Gregor and his sister; two underlanders of royal descent: Luxa and Henry; two flyers: Aurora and Ares; two crawlers: Temp and Tick, and one rat: Ripred. Once the quest begins, the events happen very quickly and they are faced with many challenges to conquer. The ending leads right into the next book in the series, “Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane.” 

Fantasy readers will enjoy this tale and will be anxious to continue reading the other five books in the series. 

The intended audience is for grades 4 – 8.

View more by: