The Lost Hero

Lost Hero book cover

Book 1 of the Heroes of Olympus Series 

The story is a spinoff from the Percy Jackson series. Three new characters are introduced to Camp Half-blood, Jason, Piper, and Leo. They are reunited with previous characters from the Percy Jackson series and learn that they are also demigods. Leo learns he is a son of Hephaestus, Piper is a daughter of Aphrodite, and Jason is a son of Zeus. They are recruited for a quest to free Hera, who has been imprisoned by Mother Earth. The heroes are plunged into exciting and dangerous adventures. Leo invents a flying fire breathing dragon robot that takes the three of them on their perilous journey. The journey takes them across the United States, meeting Cyclopes in Detroit, Medea in Chicago, and Midas in Omaha. The final battle takes place at the Wolves Den, former home of Jack London, in Sonoma, California. 

The end of the book reveals the true identity of Jason and his link to Percy Jackson. It leads into the next book of the series where the Roman and Greek demigods must unite to provide the prophesied group of seven heroes. The heroes must defeat the giants along with the gods. Within this quest, Jason, Leo, and Annabeth, have to find the Roman camp and convince them to help. 

The sequel released in October of 2011 is The Son of Neptune

Readers will be unable to put this exciting adventure down. The age appropriateness for this series is 6th - 8th grade.

View more by: